

Dr. Edwin Dunlap, Jr., Executive Director

Email: edunlap@ncsba.org

www.ncsba.org

For Immediate Release

North Carolina School Boards Association Chooses New Officers

The North Carolina School Boards Association (NCSBA) elected new officers and five new

members to the governing Board of Directors during the delegate meeting of the 2020 Annual

Conference for Board Member Development on November 4. NCSBA's new president is Amy

Churchill from Buncombe County; president-elect is Lucy Edwards, Northampton County; vice

president is Darrell Pennell, Caldwell County; and treasurer is Jennifer Thompson, Cherokee

Central Schools. Officers will serve a one-year term.

Members elected to serve a second two-year term on the NCSBA Board of Directors are Patricia

Burden, Wayne County; Mac Hodges, Beaufort County; and Dub Potts, Davie County.

Members elected to serve a first two-year term on the NCSBA Board of Directors are Margaret

Bradsher, Person County; Ben Cooke, Mount Airy City; Worley Edwards, Columbus County;

Allison Gant, Alamance-Burlington; and Charles McKellar, Cumberland County.

The board of directors establishes the mission and goals for the association and ensures that

NCSBA activities and programs remain focused on these goals. In addition, the officers and

directors are the personal communications link between their regions and the association.

About NCSBA

NCSBA was established in 1937 as an advocate for public school education. It is a nonprofit,

nonpartisan membership association that represents all 115 local boards of education in the state

and the Board of Education of the Eastern Band of the Cherokee Nation. NCSBA's mission is to

provide leadership and services that enable local boards of education to govern effectively.

For more information, please call Ramona Powers at (919) 747-6676 or send email to rpowers@ncsba.org.